Ane Brun's Songs 2003-2013 Out September 10th 2013

07 May 2013
Subscribe to Ane Brun alerts
Ane Brun's Songs 2003-2013 Out September 10th 2013

Ane Brun's Songs 2003-2013 Out September 10th 2013

Ten years after the release of her debut album, Spending Time With Morgan, Ane Brun releases Songs 2003-2013, an anthology of her previous work. The 32-song collection will be released September 10 on Brun's own label, Balloon Ranger. Songs 2003-2013 is more than a hits compilation-it is a celebration of Brun's musical accomplishments from the last decade.
The opening track, "Humming One Of Your Songs," was also the opening track on Brun's debut, which speaks to the constancy of her message. The two-disc set also includes live arrangements of some of her most popular songs, original studio versions and rare, previously unreleased material.
Brun is well known for her covers, which reinterpret songs to make them uniquely hers. For Songs Brun recorded "Feeling Good," the Newley/Bricusse classic popularized by Nina Simone, which she strips down to its basic chords. In that same vein of reinterpretation Brun turns her lens on herself, presenting a new version of "This Voice" from her 2005 album A Temporary Dive. The 2013 version of "This Voice" is based on her recent live performances, and it shows her evolution as a performer. The album also includes her take on Arcade Fire's "Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)."
Songs also draws from another part of Brun's oeuvre: her duets-of which she released an entire album in 2005. This retrospective includes an orchestral version of her duet with Peter Gabriel (with whom she toured worldwide) on his song "Don't Give Up," from his album New Blood.
Brun was born in Norway and lives in Stockholm. She has recorded eight albums over the last ten years. In 2005, her second album A Temporary Dive earned her critical acclaim at home and abroad and the Norwegian Grammy for Best Female Artist. Her third album The Changing Of The Seasons was recorded in Iceland by Valgier Sigur?sson, of which the New York Times said, "Changing of the Seasons offers the kind of comfort that only well-versed singer-songwriters can give. An album full of sad songs to revel in as the days grow shorter and colder, Seasons is Brun's strongest work yet." Songs 2003-2013 is a confirmation of Brun's achievements as a songwriter. She isn't resting on her laurels; she is merely stating that she is here to stay. Brun will tour Europe beginning in October, in celebration of the last decade.
Songs 2003-2013 Tracklisting
1. Humming One Of Your Songs
2. Are They Saying Goodbye?
3. My Lover Will Go
4. To Let Myself Go
5. Temporary Dive
6. Song No. 6 (feat. Ron Sexsmith)
7. Rubber & Soul (feat. Teitur)
8. The Dancer - Live
9. The Puzzle
10. The Treehouse Song
11. Changing Of The Seasons
12. Gillian
13. Don't Leave
14. True Colors
15. Big In Japan
1. Ten Seconds - Sketches Version
2. Lullaby for Grown-Ups - Sketches Version
3. My Star - Live
4. Lift Me - Live (feat. Sivert Höyem)
5. The Fall - Live
6. Don't Give Up (Peter Gabriel feat. Ane Brun)
7. Do You Remember
8. These Days
9. Worship (feat. Jose Gonzalez)
10. One
11. Oh Love
12. Undertow
13. Du gråter så store tåra - Norwegian Version
14. Alfonsina y el Mar
15. Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)
16. This Voice 2013
17. Feeling Good



Tags: Ane Brun

Subscribe to Ane Brun alerts

Ane Brun - Worship Video

Ane Brun's new single, Worship, is the second single from her highly acclaimed fourth studio album, It All Starts With One, which was released in...

Ane Brun - Do You Remember Video

Norwegian singer Ane Brun's new single, Do You Remember, is set to be released via Balloon Ranger Records on on July 25th 2011; it's taken...