Eddi Reader

Peacetime

Album Listening Post

Eddi Reader returns with a brand new album on January 29 called Peacetime. This is the follow up to the widely acclaimed Robert Burns project - Eddi Reader Sings the Songs of Robert Burns.

Eddie says the album started with a desire to work with some of the UK's amazing traditional folk musicians (led by John McCusker, who produced the album) and some contemporary players who she considers the best in their field. "They are free from the normal music business eccentricities and attitude that I associate with the pop industry," she explains, "They are like old New Orleans jazz players in their lack of ego and interest in making a complete sound with whoever is in the room".

"I wanted to inject some soul into some of the old songs I wanted to record, play with them like they were brand new, revealing the heart within them." She also has written some new songs. "I wanted to hear what these musicians would do with them; I was inviting them into my world as I stepped into theirs. As a result the modern songs have a real traditional thread going through them, making it all hopefully ... just MUSIC not labelled folk or contemporary or singer-songwriter or jazz!"

"A few themes developed as I built up the recordings and certainly a longing for PEACETIME inside and outside was central. Thank you for listening, It's a blessing that I get to sing to you."

Headline tour

Wed Feb 7 - Milton Keynes, The Stables

Thur Feb 8 - Milton Keynes, The Stables

Sat Feb 10 - London, Shepherds Bush Empire

Sun Feb 11 - Portsmouth, Wedgewood Rooms

Mon Feb 12 - Cheltenham, Town Hall

Wed Feb 14 - Glasgow, ABC

Thur Feb 15 - Aberdeen, Music Hall

Sat Feb 17 -Edinburgh, Usher Hall

Sun Feb 18 - Perth, Concert Hall

Tues Feb 20 - Buxton, Opera House

Thur Feb 22 - Gateshead, Sage

Fri Feb 23 - York, Opera House

Sat Feb 24 - Warwick, Arts Centre

Sun Feb 25 - Salford, Lowry

Tues Feb 27 - Northampton, Deco

Wed Feb 28 - Aberdare, Coliseum Theatre

Thur March 1 - Liverpool, Philharmonic Hall

Click to launch - Eddi Reader - Peacetime - Album Listening Post


Site - http://www.eddireader.co.uk



Contactmusic