Born Ruffians Return With Their Brilliant Third Album Birthmarks On April 16th 2013

24 Jan 2013
Subscribe To:
Born Ruffians Return With Their Brilliant Third Album Birthmarks On April 16th 2013

Born Ruffians Return With Their Brilliant Third Album Birthmarks On April 16th 2013

Born Ruffians gave fans a taste of their new material on New Year's Day when they posted a stream of new song "With Her Shadow", which is now available for download.  The Ontario-based four-piece are excited to reveal details of their upcoming third long-player, Birthmarks, which will be released in the United States on April 16th by Yep Roc.  The twelve-track album was written and demoed over the past three years and was produced by Roger Leavens at Boombox Sound in Toronto.  Tour dates to support the album will be announced soon. 

A key ingredient to the creation of Birthmarks was a remote farmhouse in rural Ontario.  The band wanted to return to the days spent writing their debut, Red, Yellow & Blue when they lived together and "whenever we had an idea we could work it out right there that moment." Their time spent at the farmhouse was often hilarious and was documented on video which can be viewed here. 

While some of Birthmarks was born on the farm, many of the songs were conceived long before. Luke Lalonde would write and demo constantly on his laptop, at home and on tour: Toronto, Montreal, Midland, Australia, France, Germany... everywhere. Several songs were realized during the recording process in the studio. 

"We don't want to tell you about what we think we sound like," says the band's Mitch DeRossier. "We can tell you that this record will sound different. These songs lived with us, toured with us, got drunk with us and made our ears ring. Now, we get to hit the road and start making your ears ring." 

Birthmarks Track Listing

1. Needle 
2. 6-5000 
3. Ocean's Deep 
4. Permanent Hesitation 
5. Cold Pop 
6. Golden Promises 
7. Rage Flows 
8. So Slow 
9. With Her Shadow 
10. Too Soaked To Break 
11. Dancing On The Edge Of Our Graves 
12. Never Age 


Tags: Born Ruffians

Subscribe To:

More Born Ruffians

Born Ruffians - Birthmarks Album Review

Now that both Radiohead and The Strokes are arguably long past their best, the indie world should be on the lookout for the next hot...

Born Ruffians - What To Say Video

Born Ruffians release What To Say through Warp Records on May 24th 2010, this is the first single from their second album 'Say It' which...

Born Ruffians - Red Yellow and Blue

Album review of Red Yellow and Blue by Born Ruffians.Canadian trio Born Ruffians are part of the puckish guitar twirling vanguard at the formerly all-techno...



Born Ruffians Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on Born Ruffians

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All