Zola Jesus Reveals A New Track Off Album 'Versions' Due Out August 20th 2013

27 Jun 2013
Subscribe To:
Zola Jesus Reveals A New Track Off Album 'Versions' Due Out August 20th 2013

Zola Jesus Reveals A New Track Off Album 'Versions' Due Out August 20th 2013

On August 20, Sacred Bones Records will release Versions - an album of nine classic Zola Jesus songs and one new track arranged for string quartet by JG Thirlwell.

On the heels of her Conatus world tour, Nika Roza Danilova was offered an opportunity to perform at one of the most prestigious modern art museums in the world, NY's Guggenheim. Rather than doing her standard Zola Jesus electronic set she decided she wanted to work with a classical composer who could arrange her songs for a quartet. She recruited legendary pioneer JG Thirlwell (Foetus) to do the arrangements.

Since his in the early 80's New York no-wave scene, JG has been scoring and composing symphonic arrangements for his own project Manorexia, in addition to currently scoring Adult Swim's Venture Brothers series. Thirlwell's oeuvre runs the gamut from orchestrations, big band, and cathartic noise-rock to abstract electronics, sound sculpture, and chamber music, thus making him the perfect collaborator to help realize Danilova's vision. 

Danilova explains her intentions with this album:

"'Versions' is about the bone of the music; taking approximations from past records and turning them inside out. With all framework exposed, the songs are given a new medium in which to evolve and bloom into their own tiny worlds."

Look for select Zola Jesus dates this fall with JG and quartet including a stop at Asheville's Mountain Oasis Festival.

Versions Track List:

01. Avalanche (Slow)
02. Fall Back
03. Hikikomori
04. Run Me Out
05. Seekir
06. Sea Talk
07. Night
08. In Your Nature
09. Collapse
10. Vessel [CD Bonus]
11. Avalanche [Digital Bonus]



Tags: Zola Jesus

Subscribe To:

More Zola Jesus

New Trailer Revealed For 'Romeo And Juliet', Starring Douglas Booth (Trailer & Pictures)

Douglas Both as Romeo and Hailee Steinfeld as Juliet in Romeo And JulietIt’s been a while since anyone’s attempted to pull off a film adaptation...

Zola Jesus - Conatus

Conatus is the third full album from Nika Rosa Danilova, a.k.a Zola Jesus. The opera trained, Wisconsin born singer broke away from blog releases and...


Zola Jesus - Vessel Video

Vessel is the first track to be taken from Zola Jesus' third studio album 'Conatus' released through Sacred Bones Records. Nika Rosa Danilova AKA Zola...

Zola Jesus, Interview

Nika Roza Danilova has been making music all her life, from classical and opera through her childhood to her current guise as singer, songwriter and...



Zola Jesus Newsletter

Subscribe to this news alert service to receive news and reviews on Zola Jesus

Unsubscribe | Unsubscribe All