Xiu Xiu Announces Second London Show 21st  May 2014 With James Blackshaw


Xiu Xiu Announces Second London Show 21st May 2014 With James Blackshaw

Xiu Xiu announce the second part of their intimate two-night "Reds Of Their Eyes" residency at Birthdays in May.

Taking place on Wednesday May 21st (preceding the May 22nd show featuring scabrous London post-punkers Blood Music) Jamie Stewart's special guest for the opening night is James Blackshaw, who brings an intensity of a very different kind in the form of hypnotic, ululating waves of drone/classical influenced guitar composition - a singular style honed across several albums for labels including Tompkins Square (who release"Fant"mas : Le Faux Magistrat", James's soundtrack to the French silent film of the same name, in July), Young God and Important, as well as several tours with Swans.

"The first time I heard James Blackshaw it was by accident. As a teenager I had the practice of buying records based on the cover art alone. Taking this up again on a lark, I bought Glass Bead Game. Not knowing what I was getting into, my heart exploded. The music was totally pure, totally beautiful, radically expanding long form pieces and touching me in a way I had not been in years. I have, with furious intent, bought every other record since and am insanely excited to be able to play together"
Jamie Stewart

All dates below.
Tuesday 20 May - LEEDS - Brudenell Social Club
Wednesday 21 May - LONDON - Birthdays with James Blackshaw
Thursday 22 May - LONDON - Birthdays with Blood Music
And full tour dates below.

APRIL
Wednesday 30th April - Krems, AU - Donau Festival - Jeremy Wade/Monika Grzymala/Xiu Xiu: Dark Material
 
MAY
Thursday 1st May - Krems, AU - Donau Festival - Xiu Xiu show + Jeremy Wade/Monika Grzymala/Xiu Xiu: Dark Material
Friday 2nd May - Krems, AU - Donau Festival - Jeremy Wade/Monika Grzymala/Xiu Xiu: Dark Material
Saturday 3rd May - Krems, AU - Donau Festival - Jeremy Wade/Monika Grzymala/Xiu Xiu: Dark Material
Sunday 4th May - Krems, AU - Donau Festival - Jeremy Wade/Monika Grzymala/Xiu Xiu: Dark Material
Monday 5th May - St Gallen, CH - Grabenhalle with The Residents
Wednesday 7th May - Lausanne, CH - Le Romandie
Thursday 8th May - Venezia, IT - Teatro Fondamenta Nuove
Friday 9th May - Udine, IT - Pn Box
Saturday 10th May - Torino, IT - El Barrio
Sunday 11th May - Brescia, IT - A Palazzo Gallery
Monday 12th May - Lyon, FR - Grrnd Zero
Tuesday 13th May - Paris, FR - Petit Bain
Wednesday 14th May - Brest, FR - La Carene
Thursday 15th May - Lille, FR - La Malterie
Friday 16th May - Utrecht, NL, Ekko
Saturday 17th May - Gent, BE, Democrazy @ DOK-Box with White Hinterland
Sunday 18th May - Rotterdam, NL, WORM
Tuesday 20th May - Leeds, UK - Brudenell Social Club Games Room
Thursday 22nd May- London, UK - Xiu Xiu & ATP present "The Reds Of Their Eyes" @ Birthdays with Blood Music
Friday 23rd May - Groningen, NL - Lepel Festival
Saturday 24th May - Copenhagen, DK - Jazzhouse with Circuit Des Yeux
Sunday 25th May - Berlin, DE - Volksb_hne with Owen Pallett
Tuesday 27th May - Hamburg, DE - Kampnagel
Friday 30th May - Moscow, RU - PIPL with Psychic TV
 
JUNE
 
Satursday 1st June - St Petersburg - RU - Zal Ojidaniya with Psychic TV




MORE INFORMATION:

http://xiuxiu.org


Contactmusic